• Faithful to my Homeland, the Republic of Poland




    Consular Jurisdiction


    Consular district of the Consulate General of the Republic of Poland in Mumbai covers eight states of the southern part of India:

         Andhra Pradesh
         Tamil Nadu

    As well as Union Territories: Pondicherry, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Andaman and Nicobar Islands.




    The Consulate General of Poland was opened in 1933. The first Consul Dr. Eugeniusz Banasiński held the post till 1944. During the II World War over  5 thousand  polish citizens, who were rescued and taken out from the places of persecution in the Soviet Union, found shelter in India, in purpose-built settlements in Valivade (in the suburbs of Kolhapur in Maharashtra) and in Balachadi (near Jamnagar  in today’s  Gujarat). The Consulate in  Mumbaj was strongly involved in all the logistics arrangements for the Polish refugees including transportation from the Soviet Union as well as their stay and care in India.  

    After official diplomatic relations between Poland and independent India had been established and Indo-Polish economic relations had been boosted as a result of the  visit of India’s Prime Minister Pandit Jahwharlal Nehru in Warsaw the significance of the Consulate in Mumbai came to a new perspective. The Consulate played an important role in promoting and organizing  Polish trade with India, mainly in heavy machinery, shipbuilding, agriculture and food processing,  sea transport.

    The collapse of the communist regime in Poland in 1989 as well as the development of the market economy both in Poland and in India  changed the environment and laid down new requirements for the bilateral collaboration. The Consulate is involved in many  initiatives and activities promoting Poland in India as well as business, culture, academia and tourism exchange between both countries.


    List of Consuls


    Mentioned below are the names of the Consuls of Poland in Mumbai:

    1. Dr. Eugeniusz Banasiński
    2. Mr. Janusz Stasinski
    3. Mr. Jan Kamiński
    4. Mr. Andrzej Wójcik
    5. Mr. Janusz Brolski
    6. Mr. Jerzy Dylewski
    7. Mr. Edmund Kaczmarek
    8. Mr. Henryk Nawrocki
    9. Mr. Stanisław Kołodziej
    10. Mr. Wojciech Gumowski
    11. Mr. Władysław Kowalski
    12. Mr. Alfred Prus
    13. Dr. Krzysztof Majka (who also served as the Ambassador of Poland to India in the period of Nov. 7, 2001 through June 15, 2008)
    14. Mr. Ireneusz Makles
    15. Mr. Marek Moroń
    16. Mr. Janusz Byliński
    17. Mr. Janusz Wach

    18. Mr. Jarosław Mikuś

    19. Mr. Leszek Brenda

    Print Print Share: